Jeanetics

Jeanetics 1

Admit it – it’s a cute title, ne?

You know that feeling you get when you stumble across a really incredible idea? It might not be your own, but it’s something so great (to your mind, at least) that you simply have to try it? That’s how I felt when I found these zip water decals.

It’s not an original concept; heaps of people buy these decals from the Born Pretty Store online and give their own spin on the jeans look. But you know how much I like my clichés, right? So of course, I simply had to have these decals and give it the Mish makeover.

Jeanetics 2

Cute and classy – win-win!

A lot of people try to replicate denim to complete the jeans nail art. Some just don’t seem to be able to pick the right shade of blue, and most mistakenly throw on a glossy top coat.

Rookie error.

We’re trying to replicate denim, aren’t we?

Jeanetics 3

Faceted polishes create the unique looks

Say hello to my cheap polish collection. Yes, that’s right, this perfect polish came to be in my possession as a cheap impulse buy. Nury 036, in case you’re wondering. There it was, at the counter of a clothing store, begging for some love. I have a weak will when it comes to polish, alright? Alas, I could never really find a purpose for this colour. It’s a dark blue with lighter almost glitter-like flecks throughout. It has a weird finish, too. It’s glossy, but the flecks give it a matte edge.

Pure genius on my part to top it with a matte top coat. Denim = check!

Seriously. I can’t believe how much this looks like denim. Okay, so it’s a little brighter than the jeans I chose for the glamour shots, but the faceted polish just gives it so much more depth, and a realistic sense of denim.

Jeanetics 4

(So many pictures…so many captions I have to think of! …aaaaand, I’ve got nothing)

It’s my first time using water decals, so please excuse any imprecision. Wish I could use that excuse every time something goes wrong…

Naturally, with a matte top coat, wear and tear took its toll quite quickly on this nail art. But for those few precious days, it was a work of beauty. A work of art.

It was magic.

Jeanetics 5

The end ^o^

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on October 11, 2014, in Decals, Matte, Pop Culture, Short, Simple and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m glad you love it! ^o^

  2. Love this post, and style! Awesome blog by the way! Check me out!!

Reply!

