One Nail to Rule Them All

One Nail to Rule Them All_01

Okay, not so sure about the gold and silver together…never the twain shall meet

It’s about high time I got around to some Lord of the Rings nail art. Seriously. It’s been HOW many years since the movies came out? There are neverending sources of inspiration from the trilogy (and The Hobbit, for that matter) – but why avoid the obvious?

In my defence, my talents with the striping tool (which were pathetic at best) have taken a sharp nosedive. I’m not sure if the brush has just had it, or whether my not-so-steady hands may contribute…

Either way, I’ve been trying to avoid nail art requiring artistic skills.

One Nail to Rule Them All - 02

Isn’t that gold perfect? Huzzah for cheap polish!

But I have this gold that’s just been sitting in my drawer, crying out in an increasingly hoarse voice to be used. I’ve never found a purpose for it, you see; harsh golds aren’t really my thing.

Lo and behold…it’s the perfect One Ring replica gold.

One Nail to Rule Them All - 03

Ah, the intricate Elvish script…

“Hey, Mish,” I hear you ask, “did you freehand the Elvish writing from the One Ring?”

Ha! Ha ha ha ha! Don’t make me laugh.

I read about this method of DIY nail transfers. Stick a few layers of clear nail polish on a plastic ziplock baggie, draw the design you want, leave to dry, then peel off and adhere to nails with more clear nail polish. Voila! Instant nail decals.

If only it were that simple.

One Nail to Rule Them All - 04

Yeeeaaah…so my artistic skills are sorely lacking. Hey, I never said I was an artist!

Can Mish trace writing with a striping tool? No.

Can Mish easily peel off the clear polish decal? No.

Can Mish get the flimsy decal from the plastic to her nails in one piece, without curling? No.

Le sigh. Nail art is tough work.

In the end, I got fed up with it all, and just stuck the entire piece of plastic onto my index finger. You can totally see it. Kudos to those who didn’t notice!

One Nail to Rule Them All - 05

Still…it’s hawt

I wish anyone who decides to use the DIY transfer method luck from the bottom of my heart. I’m sure you will have much more success than I. I just clearly suck at it. And DO NOT just stick the plastic to the nails…please. It doesn’t work.

Alas, I had to remove this nail art as soon as the pics were done. The index nail was a write-off, and if one finger was missing the design…it kinda misses the point, doesn’t it?

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on September 2, 2014, in Decals, Elegant, Paint, Pop Culture, Short, Simple, Striping tool and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Reply!

