Elephant Jade

Elephant Jade 01

Okay, so there’s neither elephants nor jade in this nail art

I’ve been curious for a while as to how a true marble look is achieved. Because sponging just doesn’t cut it. And water marble…let’s not even go there.

Welcome to the dry marble.

Elephant Jade 02

The name just popped into my head, and refused to leave

Oh yes, it’s a thing. A damn good thing, if you ask me. All it requires is a sandwich bag. You know, those thick ziplock ones?

Of course, you start with a base coat. I’m not sure if the dark or light colour is best, but I used the blue here. Place random blobs of nail polish in a rough nail shape on the plastic – thick enough that they’re blobby, but not too much or you’ll just get a mess that takes eons to dry. Gently place it onto the nail, and smoosh.

Gently.

Slowly peel back…and voila!

Elephant Jade 03

I guess you could say the yellow is the elephant tusks, and the blue, when looked at from a distance next to the yellow, looks like the jade? Yep, I’m crazy.

There’s a delightful mess of excess nail polish to clean up around the nails, but it is SO worth it.

I just <3 how this turned out. It’s probably one of the first times an experimental nail art look has worked first time. Huzzah!

And with the wood in the background…it really brings out the colours, you know?

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on August 17, 2014, in DIY Marbling, Short, Simple and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply!

