Bumblebee

Bumblebee 01

Buzzing amongst the flora ^ ^

Shortly after Christmas, I saw a bee. Yes, this is a big occurrence. I don’t often see bees. I mean, sure, I know they’re there, buzzing around, pollinating flowers and whatnot. But I never really see them. (Maybe I should get out more?)

But on this day, I looked out the window, and there it was: a cute little bumblebee.

How could I not follow through this amazing sight with bumblebee nail art?

The insect, that is. Not the Transformer…

Bumblebee 02

Noooo, that’s not smudged polish…not at all…  -____-

This idea seems so simple. And it totally is. If your name isn’t Mish.

Sally Hansen Mellow Yellow is the perfect base colour for my bumblebees, and went on smoothly (for once – this polish has a tendency towards the gluggy and thick).

I started cutting Scotch tape into strips…cue Drama #1. I cut my first piece of tape…only to realise I’d made the strips too wide. Attempt two. Much narrower, much better. Only…how many do I need? If I’d stopped and done the maths, I could’ve figured it out, leaving a few spare in case some of my lines weren’t straight or the strips were too narrow.

Yeeaah…didn’t stop to think about that one. So I just kept cutting. And cutting. And cutting. Turns out I could’ve done a whole new mani with the leftovers. Oops?

Bumblebee 03

Love these bright colours together!

For once, luck is on my side. The Scotch tape pulled up nicely, taking none of the Mellow Yellow with it. Huzzah!

But I think I may have done my top coat too early. How else do I explain those horridious black smudges? I tried attacking them with a Q-tip and acetone, but it only really served to make the problem worse. A quick dab with yellow polish didn’t help matters.

Ah, well. It’s still cute, isn’t it? ^o^

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on January 21, 2014, in Animals, Scotch Tape, Short, Simple and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply!

