Black Snowfall

Black Snowfall 01

While perusing in Cosmetics Plus, I stumbled across a new type of polish: BK’s Black Snow. It’s basically a glitter polish – no, actually, it’s more of a confetti polish. A clear base with assorted black and white bits.

I figured: cool! What could possibly go wrong?

Everything, apparently.

But I’m getting ahead of myself. It started out innocently enough. I suffered the usual problems of my OPI Alpine Snow (bubbles galore), with Inglot’s black shade on my accent nail (the black applies so well; you know, I should probably see what Inglot’s white is like…).

Cue the problems.

As with many glitter polishes, it takes a bajillion layers of polish to get even a single dot of glitter/confetti on the nails. I had to draw the line at some point. Read: three layers.

But that isn’t the worst of it. Oh, no. It’s the removal.

Black Snowfall 02

I could. Not. Get. This. Stuff. Off.

Seriously. I tried everything. But nothing worked, except scraping the damn stuff off. Talk about ruining your nails! At the time, I thought this purchase was certainly not worth it.

In hindsight, however, as I have worked out a good measure to remove glitter with ease, I don’t mind the confetti. It offers a unique look, and as I obtained a new version for Christmas, I am eager to see how it works again.

Looking back at these pictures, I shudder at my cuticle lines. Gah! How did I survive before my angled brush and remover?

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on January 3, 2014, in Accessories, Glitter, Simple and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Reply!

