Opposites Don’t Always Attract

Opposites Don't Always Attract 01

Nail art? Pshaw! More like FAIL art.

Don’t get me wrong. The concept succeeded. It was really more of Mish’s skills that failed. Like that’s new…

I actually don’t recall the name of this nail art method, should it even have a name. It’s been too long since I did it. Therefore I dub thee Faux Spun Sugar nails. Which is essentially what the idea is.

Opposites Don't Always Attract 02

It’s like the cleaner version of spun sugar nails. Instead of using string, thick polish and ‘spinning’, you just use paint and a fan brush. I had a fan brush in my cheap nail set, but didn’t really know what to do with it, so it just sat, neglected, in the corner.

It now has purpose!

I’m sure you get the idea: load brush with paint, and gently stroke across nails, leaving lines. Great idea in theory.

Until Mish gets her hands on it.

I think my main problem lies with the colours. Opposite colours are supposed to match, right? Well, my DIY dark purple unfortunately does not match my yellow. In rising panic, I tried to rectify the situation with a DIY pale purple…buuuut it just looks greyish. Eek! O.o

Opposites Don't Always Attract 03

My right thumb nail is perhaps my winning nail (odd, for my dominant hand…). Not too much yellow, as has utterly destroyed the rest of the collection, and managed to avoid a dumping of the grey (ahem, light purple).

The nice diagonal slant also adds a certain air, no?

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on December 30, 2013, in Paint and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I like the look very much! And I’m painfully familiar with this feeling of rising panic and also with what-on-earth-should-I-do-with-this-fan-brush :-)

Reply!

