All Pinked Out

All Pinked Out 01

I recently stumbled across the nail art style of saran wrap. For those who do not hie from America (myself included), saran wrap is otherwise known as cling wrap. You know, that clear sticky stuff you put over food? Yeah, that.

Didn’t think this common household item could be used to make nail art, eh?

Neither did I.

But once I saw the possibilities in my research, I was sold.

All Pinked Out 02

After your base colour is dry, you apply the next colour. Whilst it’s wet, you grab a saran wrap (cling wrap) ball, and dab away. A bit messy – but I’m always messy :P I’d recommend scotch taping around your cuticles first to reduce clean-up.

Simple. Easy. Pretty.

But I broke the cardinal rule of saran wrap  nail art.

Start with your lightest shade, and go darker with every succeeding layer.

Yeahhh… Well, I started with a light pink. I then did my first dabbed layer in a darker shade. But then I couldn’t decide how to finish it off. I wanted another layer, but I didn’t have an appropriate darker pink. So I thought silver might look nice.

I guess it does. In a strange sort of way. But it also just doesn’t look right.

The horror doesn’t stop there.

All Pinked Out 03

I mistakenly tried a light light pink on the top layer of my right hand…fail. I tried to fix it with a matte top coat. Hey, you never know.

Talk about making things worse.

It looks like I have pink mould growing on my nails. Seriously. Take a look at it!

O Goddess of Nail Art, my lesson has been learned. Punish me not!

All Pinked Out 04

* Yes, you may have noticed my nails look somewhat longer than in my last post. I’m quite behind in my posts – backed up to the end of September, actually ^^; Recent festivities such as Hallowe’en, The Hunger Games, and Christmas jumped the cue. But now I shall go back and try to catch up ASAP!

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on December 28, 2013, in Gradient, Matte, Saran Wrap, Simple and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I did exactly the same thing the first time i tried a Saran wrap mani! lol And it was green oO

Reply!

