A White Christmas

A White Christmas 01

A nail art created with the naive hope of a White Christmas.

Heck, forget naive. It would take a massive polar shift for my home to ever receive even a single flurry of snowflakes during the festive season. That, or the beginning of the apocalypse. Or the Second Coming of Jesus . Or just a plain ol’ miracle.

You get the idea.

But still…my nails were feeling a little optimistic. All in the spirit of Christmas ^^

A White Christmas 02

I know, I know, I’ve done a snowflake mani similar to this before. I even used the same snowflakes decals. But this one is slightly different. Trust me.

I used BYS’s dark blue polish as a base. It has a lovely almost-metallic shine to it, not to mention its lovely hue. Plus, it smells like blueberries when dry. Oh yeah, my nails smell like blueberries! \^o^/

Who doesn’t like scented polish?

And then we have the sponged white. On my original version, it was light blue on silver, but here it’s white on dark blue. Although it is not apparent (alas), I tried to sponge the white polish so the blue resembled half-moons, but my symmetry leaves much to be desired…

A White Christmas 03

What’s snow without a little glitter and silver rhinestones?

Several glitter polishes sacrificed themselves for the cause: Sally Hansen’s Disco Ball (applied with a very light hand), TopShop’s Ice Crush (revamped with some leftover clear polish, since I’d pretty much used all of the Ice Crush liquid, and heaps of left-behind glitter begged to be used), and a nondescript silver glitter (just a quick splash).

With the presence of no less than THREE glitter polishes, you’d think there’d be sufficient glitter in this nail art. Buuuuut…no. I still think the mani could do with more glitter.

Then again, I am a crazy glitter lady.

A White Christmas 04

I altered the way I clean up my cuticles. I’ve seen it mentioned several times that you should use a small brush to remove unwanted polish around the cuticles and get the perfect curved edge. I gave it a go once…yeah, enough said.

But after reading an article recommended by Elektra (elektraking.com), I realised I’d used too firm a brush.

Second time lucky?

Finding a soft angled brush in my neglected nail brush collection, I gave it another shot. And OMG – it works!! It took me a good hour to do both hands (hey, gimme a break – amateur right here! And, you know, the perfectionism certainly doesn’t help…), but you know what? It was totally worth it.

Thanks, Elektra!

A White Christmas

If you’re a regular of Mish’s Nail Art, you’ll have noticed I changed the shape of my nails. I’m still trying to find the right shape for me. I’ve tried round and rounded square, so I thought I’d give square a go.

I can’t really see the full effect with such short nails (one nail broke, darn it!), so I look forward to the result over the next month or so.

Thoughts?

 

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on December 26, 2013, in Decals, Festive, Glitter, Gradient, Rhinestones, Short and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. There was snow in the middle east this year… It’s not completely impossible ;)

  2. I love this! Those snowflake decals are really cute!

Reply!

