O Christmas Tree

O Christmas Tree 01

Well. I learnt one thing while doing this nail art.

I seriously need to practice my water marbling technique O.o

This mani by no means resembles the perfect abstract Christmas tree nail art I saw on the internet, but you know what? I actually don’t care. I am just so stoked about my semi-successful water marbling, that it’s good enough for me ^_^

I’m disappointed that I couldn’t use a new Ultra3 green polish I bought specifically for this nail art – it just wouldn’t spread on the surface of the water, forcing me to abandon my perfect Xmas light green for this apple green. It completely and utterly overtakes my darker green…

Sigh.

O Christmas Tree 02

(My right hand, done second, has some more successful marbling)

But I learnt some valuable lessons (aside from the aforementioned one).

Lesson 1: there is such a thing as too much nail polish in the middle. In other words – less rings! My first few nails were pretty much complete flops, because the polish in the centre of the pattern smudged. There was simply too much polish to maintain a design. I quickly re-evaluated my approach.

Lesson 2: when things aren’t going to plan…just go with the flow. My swirls are supposed to be going in a particular direction, to add to the impression of a tree. But alas, as water marbling is by no means my forte, I was forced to accept reality, and discard perfection. As a result, I got some very nice marbling on my second hand. Woot!

Lesson 3: metal stars make for pointy objects!

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on December 24, 2013, in Accessories, Festive, Water Marbling and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply!

