A Sparkly Christmas

A Sparkly Christmas

Okay, so it would seem my creativity is sorely lacking in the Christmas nail art naming department. Ah, well. I guess the title tells you exactly what you get. A positive?

Pfft. Since when have I been optimistic?

Anyway, getting on with business. I said in my last post that I’d be replicating Xmas nail art I liked on the net, but this one I happened to see on a girl at my gym Christmas party. She had her mani done at a salon.

But why pay when you can just do it yourself?

A Sparkly Christmas

I had rather hoped my new foils from Dollar Nail Art would arrive before attempting this nail art – I’ve purchased an awesome red glitter foil, which would make a great base for those red sparklies ^o^ But alas, they did not arrive in time.

In fact, as Mish’s luck would have it, they arrived the following day ^^;  Should’ve seen that one coming…

So I resorted to just throwing down a few layers of my Inglot red (transparent as all heck), before applying a gazillion layers of this pretty red glitter polish I just bought. I’ve never heard of Ultra3, but at $2 a bottle, I’m all for it! Okay, so it may require several layers to get good glitter coverage, but what glitter polish doesn’t?

A pity the glitter doesn’t really show up properly in these pics.

A Sparkly Christmas_03

A few coats of Revlon’s Gold Get ‘Em on my accent nails, followed by BK’s atrociously-textured gold glitter polish, and I’m almost done. Just a few green rhinestones for my tree, and a metallic star…

I considered putting another row of green rhinestones at the base of the tree, but thought the green might be too overpowering, so I placed a brown-ish rhinestone in their place, you know, like the trunk of the tree. Against the gold, the rhinestone looks rather orange. Oops.

Bonus: I’ve finally discovered the secret to removing glitter polishes.

Yep, you read that right. I accidentally used my Sally Hansen Hard as Nails top coat as a base coat. Result: my red nails just peeled right off!! No acetone required. Score!

Wait. I meant ‘red nail polish‘ peeled right off. Not the actual nails…

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on December 20, 2013, in Festive, Glitter, Rhinestones, Short, Simple and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply!

