Oh Deer!

Oh Deer! 01

Original name, I know :P But I simply had to!

I debated whether to do some Christmas nail art this year – I pretty much exhausted my supply of ideas last year. Then common sense snapped me out of it – where was my festive spirit??

Christmas creativity still somewhat eludes me, so I am going to try my hand at manis I like. This particular one seems popular on the net at the moment…and I can see why. Aren’t those reindeer just so darn cute?

Oh Deer! 02

For such a simple nail art, I actually had a failed first attempt. I’m still working out the kinks in my OPI’s Alpine Snow, figuring out the correct thickness of layers. As a result, I had some pretty impressive air bubbles the first time around. And then I tried using a brown polish which throws silver for the reindeer.

It really just didn’t work.

I quit while I was ahead and started again.

This time, using white paint as a base (less drying time, no air bubbles) and a solid chocolate lacquer for the reindeer. I used polish and a dotting tool for the noses and eyes, and a striping tool and paint for the antlers (which, I might point out, was playing up. The striping tool, I mean. Hence, deformed antlers).

Oh Deer! 03

Aren’t their eyes adorable? On my first thumb, I put the black in the centre of the white. The outcome: a very startled-looking reindeer. I rectified matters by placing the black dot to the bottom of the white, and voila! Cute reindeer.

I think the reflected light in their eyes and on their nose add just a touch of realism.

I accidentally did all ten of my nails brown before I realised a critical point: there are only nine reindeer!! I had to go for symmetry in the end, rather than a full set. Sigh.

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on December 15, 2013, in Animals, Festive, Paint, Simple, Striping tool and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply!

