Mermaid Fashion

Mermaid Fashion 01

I had to go to a cocktail party at a conference. Themed. Part of me squeals like a teenager at the thought of hunting down a cute costume, while another part of me shrivels up in distaste at having to actually think of a costume. ‘Nautical or Nice’. A rather broad theme, wouldn’t you say?

Well, luckily I’ve always had a thing for mermaids, so the decision was already sorted. But what do I do about my nails? I’ve already done two mermaid inspired manis… What’s left? O.o

Mermaid Fashion 02

And suddenly, I was inspired to do some layering.

I don’t often do layered nail art – mainly because I can never really think up any cool ideas ^^; But this one came to me instantly.

I started out with a trillion coats of Inglot’s 315 (or so it felt), a very beautiful, very translucent, sky blue polish with a shimmer effect. I followed up with a rough zig-zag stripe using BK’s Torquise Fine Glitter Polish (their typo, not mine).  I was reaaaaally worried about this glitter stuff, but it blends well with the pale blue.

Mermaid Fashion 03

Using Konad’s m57 plate and Revlon’s Pure Pearl polish, I stamped myself some scales. Well, technically, it’s just netting. Meh; semantics. It’s all the same in the end, ne?

And let’s not forget the finishing touches: artfully-placed blue hexagons, and some dark blue rhinestones mixed in with pale blue and white half-pearls. ‘Cause, you know, mermaids like shiny and pearly things.

Don’t they?

I’m quite impressed with the end result. I’m pretty keen to give layering another go in the near future ^^

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on November 11, 2013, in Glitter, Konad, Pearls, Rhinestones and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I can totally see the mermaid in your nails! :-) and I guess you’re right, mermaids like pearly and shiny things … just like witches like spiders … ;-)

Reply!

