Cherry Blossom

Cherry Blossom 01

I love sakura.

I have always wanted to go to Japan and see the beautiful cherry blossoms in full bloom. Well, this week I began planning my trip to Japan early next year (yay!).

Is it any wonder I was inspired to paint cherry blossoms on my nails?

Cherry Blossom 02

I’ve looked up cherry blossom nail art in the past – but I wanted my nail art to be original, so I deliberately did not refresh my memory prior to commencing my ‘delicate artwork’ :P

On an aside note – I’ve finally found a good white polish! O.P.I’s Alpine Snow is all I could ask for in a white lacquer; it goes on in nice layers, isn’t too transparent, and applies with a delightfully wide brush.

I’d truly despaired of ever finding a decent white! (First-world problems, I know… ^ ^;)

Cherry Blossom 03

Surprisingly, it wasn’t my quality/costly pink polishes I sponged on. It was one of my cheap, no-name polishes. Doesn’t that colour look perfect?

Alas, I don’t know if my cherry blossom pink is quite right. I spent quite a bit of time mixing paint. To be honest, I really don’t think paint mixing is my forte… In the end, I conceded defeat, and just used the colour I had on the palette.

Although, it actually doesn’t look too bad the more I stare at my nails. Maybe it was just paranoia…? My perfectionist nature?

Cherry Blossom 04

Oh, and I added glitter as a final touch to the flowers. It added a little bit of life to my sakura :D

I wonder if perhaps a pale pink would’ve been better than the stark white… Oh well. I’m quite ecstatic with the outcome. Too bad nail art doesn’t last forever!

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on September 3, 2013, in Elegant, Festive, Glitter, Gradient, Paint, Striping tool and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Very nice! I did cherry blossoms once on a mint green background – looked exactly like the giant cans of SoBe iced green tea, which isn’t actually a bad thing!

Reply!

