Plaid It Up

I hate plaid. Seriously. You know those flannel shirts with the plaid print? Ick! Can’t stand them. So why try a manicure with a plaid design? Well, let’s chalk it up to momentary  insanity.

Because I was strangely eager to attempt this nail art, even if I am less than fazed with the results.

Plaid It Up 01

This manicure was a disaster from start to finish. Not one of my worst ones, I’ll admit, but still.

The pink base polish was disturbingly gluggy and hard to work with; then my paint was reluctant to mix into the colours I want (yes, I blame the paint!) – the light pink is clearly too close to my polish colour, and that darker pink is waaaay too red. Though, this pic makes it look far worse than it really is. The nail art looked sadly lacking, so I decided to add the black lines.

Result: the above mess.

I learnt some valuable lessons along the way.

1. Start with the dark colours. Yeah, I kinda did my manicure in reverse. Unintentionally, of course. It’s just how it ended up. But I think it would have had a completely different effect, had I applied the black first, followed by the dark pink.

2. Follow a design. A good lesson, that. This nail art would’ve looked way more awesome if I’d just copied off a design, rather than winging it. Oops?

3. Throw away the gluggy polish! (ie. every Sally Hansen’s Xtreme Nails I own…)

Plaid It Up 02

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on June 2, 2013, in Paint, Short, Simple, Striping tool and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply!

