Firespun

Firespun 01

While trolling some nail art sites for inspiration, I came across this new style that instantly intrigued me: the spun-sugar method. The look is kind of self-explanatory – the nail polish is supposed to look like spun-sugar. Needless to say, I simply had to try it.

Mine sure as hell didn’t turn out that way.

Firespun 02

According to the directions given on multiple blogs, to achieve the spun-sugar look, you get several drops of nail polish (the older, the better), and put somewhere you can manipulate it ie. on an art palette. Then you work the polish, until it starts to thicken. Eventually, it will get stringy, which is exactly what we need.

Yeah…my polish got stringy, but in a chunky sort of way. Definitely not as fragile and delicate as spun-sugar. I couldn’t believe how much nail polish this design churned through, just to get a handful of stringy lines!

(In hindsight, that was probably because it went chunky…?)

Firespun 03

There wasn’t a chance in hell I would do my right hand. Waaay too finicky for that.

Still, I quite love this design, and the colours are simply stunning XD

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on April 2, 2013, in Gradient, Short, Simple and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply!

