Flames Entwine

Flames Entwine 01

I am still somewhat at a loss as to what to do with my freakishly short nails. I love the French manicure look, but I am no longer able to pull it off (much to my everlasting dismay). So I sort of decided to wing it.

If you know me, then you’ll know that’s not exactly the best of ideas. And certainly not in character.

Nonetheless, that is the approach I took, and you know what? I think this nail art is bloody awesome.

Flames Entwine 02

I was going for a pale orange colour as the base. Only having two orange nail polishes in my possession, I resorted to acrylic paint. I mixed some bright orange (the only orange paint I had) with a heap of white, and this is the resulting colour. Not the pale, timid, pastel shade I was aiming for.

No. This is so much better.

It’s bold, luminescent. It’s freakin’ bright. It certainly catches the eyes.

As you may have noticed from my recent posts, I have a fascination with my striping tool. Don’t worry; no doubt the obsession will wane with time. But for now, please humour me. Having created this awesome orange, I thought I may as well go with a fire theme. Cue the striping of orange and red paint. Technically it’s supposed to be orange flames, with red as highlights/shadows.

Yeah, not so much on my right hand.

Flames Entwine 03

(Please forgive the sharp harshness of the above picture. I wanted to give you a clear look at the flames, but the flash has distorted the colours.)

I contemplated doing more to the nails, but in the end I decided: less is more, right?

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on February 10, 2013, in Paint, Short, Simple, Striping tool and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply!

