Retro Primrose

Retro Primrose 01

You see, I have this skirt. I’d never worn it. I guess I just needed to find an excuse to air it out of the closet. Now I can’t wait to wear it with my matching nail art.

I’ve never really thought about bringing a pale yellow together with such strong colours before. I mean, I probably would have hooked it up with another yellow shade, or some similar warm colours. But this…this is magic.

Retro Primrose 02

I’ll say right out that I’m getting rather tired of my dodgy white nail polish. No matter the brand, it sits on either side of the spectrum: too thin, or too gluggy. I blame this for (most of) the imperfections of this nail art (well, that and the Scotch tape…). In case you’re wondering which way I went – I chose the gluggy polish. I might’ve gone for the thinner one if I hadn’t been pressed for time.

And then the Scotch tape… No matter how well I lessen the stickiness, it still insists on sticking to the polish, and taking some with it. Not to mention the parts where it tries to drag up some of the good polish when I remove it. One day I’ll learn the knack of it.

Retro Primrose 03

The black is Inglot’s standard black shade. A nice reliable polish, that. I can’t quite recall the name of the yellow colour, but it’s a Rimmel polish. Quite lovely, consistent. I wondered for a moment there that it wouldn’t stand up to the solid white and black, but it brazened it out. Good ol’ yellow.

I almost wish I was the kind of person who likes patterns and designs on her clothes. Then I could do some fun follow-ups on this style. Alas, my wardrobe is more monotoned…

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on January 24, 2013, in Scotch Tape, Simple and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply!

