Moonstone

Moonstone 01

You know that saying, ‘diamonds are a girl’s best friend’? I’ve never really understood how someone can make such a grand statement. I, for one, cannot stand diamonds. No, on the contrary: a moonstone is my ice of choice.

I’m sure you can understand why I would then choose to replicate such translucent beauty through my nail art. As my success with white polish is best measured in negative numbers, I needed a better base colour. Best option: purple.

Not so much of a stretch, really. Many moonstones favour purple in their glow.

Moonstone 02

OPI make this delightful purple shimmer polish – Yokohama Twilight. It was simply perfect for my purpose (though it must be said I did not purchase it specifically for this nail art; it was already in my possession). I own some striping tape. I thought I’d give the silver a go.

It did not end well.

Oh, it looks all fine and dandy in these shots. But in reality: nightmare.

Moonstone 03

The ends kept curling up, despite the fact they are backed with a sticky adhesive. I resorted to using glue to keep the darn things down. It worked…for all of two minutes. Sufficient time to take pictures. Then they proceeded to painstakingly curl up, much to my dismay. If someone could teach me the trick to striping tape, I would be much obliged.

I had these moonstone-like rhinestones in my collection – a most wonderful purchase from the Dollar Nail Art store. I knew I’d bought them for a reason, even if that reason had not presented itself for several months.

Moonstone 04

After I ripped off the striping tape (which left dents in my polish – thankfully straight), the nails still looked pretty, so it wasn’t a complete loss!

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on January 14, 2013, in Rhinestones, Striping Tape and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply!

