Psychedelic, Baby

Psychedelic, Baby 01

I <3 foil. There’s no other way to put it. I simply love the stuff. It’s quick, simple, and easy to use (in most cases…), and comes in a wide variety of colours and patterns. But to tell you the truth, I didn’t actually set out to create this psychedelic look. This miracle happened by pure happenstance.

I’m not kidding.

I painted my nails with this luscious blue polish, with hints of silver glitter. It was brilliant: one coat and it was perfect. I had previously purchased a foil called Opal Swirl, somewhat resembling an oil slick. You know, that kind of multi-coloured metallic feel. I’d hoped the foil would make my blue look like water – in other words, I’d hoped it would be wavy and opaque.

Yeah, better luck next time.

Psychedelic, Baby 02

(One of these days, I’m going to learn not to take photos in yellow light; completely distorts colour. You’d never know it, but that material is actually a light, bright pink. I’d intended for it to bring out the pink in the foil…)

Instead, what I got was this very Austin Powers-esque nail art. The blue polish shone through the opal swirl – just not in the way I had intended. My nail art is now predominantly blue, with swirls of pink, yellow, and even green at times. I’m glad my idea didn’t work out, because otherwise I would never have seen this delight.

Next time, I’m going to try pink or yellow; I guarantee they will produce completely different results.

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on October 28, 2012, in Foil and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply!

