Candy Cheer

I’ve made no secret of the fact that pink is not particularly one of my favoured colours. You may wonder, then, why I choose it as a feature colour in quite a number of my manicures. Well, in this particular case, it wasn’t supposed to be pink!

And techincally, it isn’t.

Candy Cheer 01

Okay, let me start at the beginning. Having been delighted by the results of my previous tie-dye-ish nail art (Come On, Aussie!), I really wanted another go at it, but with different colours and design. I was curious to see how well red and dark purple went together.

Well, that was the plan.

Candy Cheer 02

Red + Purple = Pink.

Seems pretty obvious, doesn’t it? Yeah, well, Mish clearly didn’t get that memo.

I started sponging the red – I couldn’t figure out which I was supposed to do first, red or purple. It was quite solid, and not really suitable for sponging, but that’s another story. Then I went in guns blazing with two shades of purple. All was going well…until I added a purple-based red-sparkly-flake polish.

Candy Cheer 03

The sparkling flakes aren’t visible in most of these shots (one day I WILL learn to take all my pictures during daylight!), but the purple colour is visible over the red.

Of course, the inevitable happened. The red was no longer red, but candy pink. So, experiment failed. I mean, it still looks nice – pink and purple DO go together. But the whole point was to see how red and purple looked together.

Better luck next time?

Candy Cheer 04

I was told by a friend that my nails look suitable for cheerleading, or rather Katy Perry-esque. They remind me of candy. Not sure why…

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on September 6, 2012, in Glitter, Nfu-Oh, Scotch Tape and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply!

