Fairy Floss 2.0

I love the Ekka. It’s the only time of the year when it’s okay to act like a little kid. For those who aren’t local, the Ekka is the Royal Brisbane Show, otherwise known as the Exhibition. I don’t know what psychotic chap decided ‘Ekka’ was short for ‘Exhibition’, but I suppose that’s really beside the point. Just imagine a big, fun carnival.

One Ekka tradition is the consumption of copious amounts of concentrated sugar. In other words: fairy floss.

Fairy Floss 2.0 01 I know I’ve already done a fairy floss manicure, and trust me, you’ll never get me within ten feet of the real stuff, but my friend Sarah is obsessed with the artery-clogging, sticky treat, and requested this nail art for herself on our trip to the Ekka.

How could I refuse?

Fairy Floss 2.0 02

The colours are sponged on, one: to achieve the gradient-ish look, and two: to give the colours a softer look. It’s supposed to be spun sugar, after all!

And what’s a sugary look without glitter? Ah yes, my dear friend glitter.

Fairy Floss 2.0 03

I didn’t have the luxury of going out to buy the appropriate colours, so I had to make do with what I had in my collection. Not to mention I didn’t have a stockpile of fairy floss at my disposal to attempt to match colours.

I think I did a pretty good job in selecting colours, yes?

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on August 12, 2012, in Festive, Food, Glitter, Gradient and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply!

