O Starry Night

Along with my many eccentricities and unusual interests, I quite like the night sky. I mean, it’s so beautiful. Not many people take the time to just look up at the stars, to completely clear their mind and just embrace the serenity.

I attempted to capture that elegance.

O Starry Night 01

I chose a nice deep blue; it’s so dark it almost appears black. However, with the clever idea to apply a matte top coat, that blue turns a delightful velvet shade. But I’m getting ahead of myself.

To achieve the different stars, I used a mixture of acrylic paint and glitter.

O Starry Night 02

Some white paint and a light blue were dotted onto the blue. Small glitter flakes in white and blue were added to the mix. Unfortunately, they appear very green in these pictures, but trust me, that’s just the light reflecting.

I wanted the stars to be random, and I didn’t want to overdo them, so I thought the old adage ‘less is more’ was most appropriate.

O Starry Night 03

 :D

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on August 2, 2012, in Glitter, Matte and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply!

