Firebrand

I’ll be honest. I’m not really a warm-colour person. Except for a time in my misguided childhood when my favourite colour for some absurd reason was yellow, I have never fancied any ofthosecolours. You know, the reds, oranges, yellows, and (dare I say it?) pinks. I mean, they’re kind of cool when put together (minus the pink) to form a vision of a sunrise or sunset, but still, I’m not a big fan.

Firebrand 01

So I’m not quite sure what affliction I was suffering from when I tackled this nail art. Though in saying that, I quite wonder what came over me for those previous forays into pink…

I had this image in my head, and I just had to do it. The many-faceted orange polish I used (China Glaze’s Capitol Colours: Riveting) brings unusual life to this manicure, making it almost sparkle.

Firebrand 02

While I’m being honest, I might as well admit to having used Scoth tape for the straight lines. I wasn’t going to leave it to chance. Oooooh no. Too much risk in that. My only problem was trying to get the angles even – I don’t think I really succeeded there. My task wasn’t made any easier by the fact that my nails were all of different lengths.

Note to all nail art aficionados: you should probably keep your nails at a similar length for any such endeavours.

Firebrand 03

I’ll take this opportunity to point out that, for some very strange reason, I didn’t take pictures of my nails until they’d endured some wear and tear, so they are a little chipped, and missing a handful of rhinestones. Not my proudest moment…

Speaking of rhinestones, I believe these yellow sparklies are a tad too large. But they do seem to be the typical rhinestone size. Do they ever come any smaller? No? Because that would be quite nice. A bit tricky and time-consuming, but pretty.

Firebrand 04

And yes, that is henna on my right hand (seen as left in pics). I just couldn’t resist!

:D

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on July 12, 2012, in French, Rhinestones and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply!

