Fairy Floss

So, I was checking out The Sims 3 online, and I saw there was this new stuff pack called Katy Perry’s Sweet Treats (or something of that persuasion). Totally not my thing, but in it there are decorative items all inspired by ice creams and fairy floss, and so forth. It’s all kind of cute in a sickly sweet way.

It did, after all, inspire this manicure.

Fairy Floss 01

(Please excuse my unfocused pics; one day I’ll actually learn to put my pics onto the computer BEFORE I remove the polish, so I can take any additional photos once I see the ones I took are dodgy…)

Anyhow, as you can see, I decked my nails out in pink! OMG! It’s like a fairy threw up on my nails…

Fairy Floss 02

I originally channelled a strawberry sundae. I had my pink base colour on, and was slathering the colour onto my free edge to create the French manicure look, and all was going great.

Then came the time to add the pink lines. Now, I was sort of pressed for time; polish should really have a chance to dry before you go to bed – you might not appreciate the fabric prints you wake up with. So I chose to use a polish rather than take the time to mix up a pink with acrylic paint. All I had was this ghastly bright pink, so on it went.

I used a brush that was too large for the task, resulting in ridiculously fat lines. The fact that I was using polish for the task certainly didn’t help.

Oh well, go with the flow…

Fairy Floss 03

It was at this point that I stopped, took stock, and realised my nails were turning into fairy floss rather than a sundae. Cool. Whatever. Just go with it.

So I whipped out the coarse pink glitter (why do I even own pink glitter?) and stuck on three rows of three on each nail, in between the two pink lines. Unfortunately, this glitter didn’t really show up in the pics, but trust me, it looked super cool in person.

Fairy Floss 04

So there you have it: some Katy Perry-inspired nail art.

It wasn’t until I was writing this blog that I realised I should have taken some photos with actual fairy floss. But then again, given the fact I don’t actually eat concentrated sugar, it would probably have just been a waste…

:D

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on June 27, 2012, in Food, French, Glitter and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply!

