Golden Ruby

I recently bought this über-cheap nail polish. It had this absolutely stunning ruby colour. I just couldn’t live without it. (Especially not for that price…)

Caveat emptor, indeed.

Golden Ruby 01

Don’t get me wrong. I still totally love this polish – I can’t even begin to describe my abnormal fascination with this colour. It just rocks.

But it is a complete ***** to clean up.

Seriously. You take a cotton tip damp with remover and gently rub against excess polish. Some comes off. You rub some more. It smudges along your finger. So you get a fresh cotton tip, and go at it again. You look like you’ve smeared berry juice or maroon dye all over your finger. This stuff literally multiplies.

Golden Ruby 02

Don’t even get me started on the complete mess it made a week later when I removed it completely.

Traumatised. I’m utterly traumatised.

Ruby polish = 1. Mish = 0.

On my left hand, I added a diagonal line of gold foil. It has this awesome rainbow shimmer. Love it. Two points for the pretty foil. However, it didn’t really apply evenly. I had to go over it several times with some more glue and foil.

Strike those points.

Eventually I just decided to go with it and adapt my design. What do they say? Something about natural selection, survival of the fittest, and all that. I added a black line to the top of the gold, in a misguided attempt to straighten it out. Then I added some gold glitter below the line. I wanted to make it look like the gold line was fading towards the bottom left corner.

It didn’t quite turn out as perfect as I’d hoped, but it still looks pretty :)

Golden Ruby 04

On my right hand, the gold actually worked the first time. Still not the perfectly straight-edged line it was supposed to be, but certainly more consistent. I was loathe to attack it like I had my left hand.

So I decided to just leave it as is. Simple. Yet elegant.

Ruby polish = 1. Mish = 1. Gold foil = 1.

Golden Ruby 05

I miss this nail art :(

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on June 17, 2012, in Foil, Glitter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply!

