A Tip of Pastel

I call this my unintentional nail art. I’d just removed my last manicure, but didn’t particularly feel like doing anything to my nails for a few days. I felt like going au naturale.

Problem: my nails are hideously yellowed from continually being coated in nail polish (‘a base coat will prevent that’ my patootie!).

I decided to throw on a couple of coats at work, using an OPI french manicure pink. It goes on really well, thanks to the consistency of the polish and the nice wide brush. It dries pretty quickly, too.

Please forgive the unintentional OPI review.

A Tip of Pastel 01

I got home with my nails a tad bumped and dented where I’d whacked them during the course of my job while the were still drying. But I didn’t really mind; they dimmed the yellowness, and would protect them from breakage until I could apply new nail art.

But then I thought…this is really boring. So I whipped out the pastel colours and slathered those bad boys onto my tips.

A Tip of Pastel 02

The colours instantly lightened my nails, made them a hell of a lot more interesting to look at. I even threw on some rhinestones, two different sizes, just for fun.

The smile lines on my left hand are pretty darn good for a complete amateur! A few imperfections, most due to that horrid yellow polish, but still, really cute!

I probably stopped a mill or two too shy on some fingers; some of my white free edge is visible. But whatever; it wasn’t supposed to be a time-consuming ordeal…

A Tip of Pastel 03

The next time I try this nail art, I think I might swap the pink and the purple. It looks odd, as the pink nails are harder to spot, and the pink is really needed to uplift the other colours.

I definitely recommend this manicure; it is quick, simple, and very pretty :)

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on June 7, 2012, in French, Rainbow, Rhinestones and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Definitely going to do this – looks awesome!! Although I might try it with really bright crazy colours instead of pastels as I don’t have many subtle tones in my collection :/

Reply!

