Spot of Rainbow

I appear to have some sort of girly fascination with rainbows. Both physical object and colour-wise. Which is strange, really, given my decided distaste for pink. But there you have it; I like rainbows.

Next thing you know I’ll be coughing up damn stars and confetti hearts…

Spot of Rainbow 01

So, on that note, here is my recent rainbow manicure.

It is really just a series of gradients: the thumbs go from red to orange; the pointer fingers from orange to yellow; and so forth, right down to the pinkies with blue to purple.

Spot of Rainbow 02

I watched a clip on how someone achieved a similar gradient look, and decided to follow their sponging technique – I’d never done vertical gradients before.

I’ll be blunt: it sucked. I am sooo doing things my way from now on. You can see in the pics how poorly these colours meld from one to the other. It is clumsy and very unsophistocated.

Spot of Rainbow 03

Anyhoo, I used a Konad stamp to achieve the spotty look. I have to say, I don’t think spots were the right choice to show off the gradient; I guess I’ll learn from my mistakes, moreso than from my successes.

Also, I have come to the conclusion that I cannot use stamps on my nails; they are too long, and they have too severe a curve from the cuticle to the free edge. As evidenced in these shots, the stamp fails to get right from the top to the bottom on some nails, and from side to side.

Guess I’ll have to find some willing victim to use them on…

Spot of Rainbow 04

And so there it is; a relatively attractive, yet not quite what was expected, girly manicure.

:)

Spot of Rainbow 05

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on June 4, 2012, in Gradient, Konad, Rainbow and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply!

