Silk and Lace – District 8

I was absolutely delighted to do this manicure. Well, the inspiration wasn’t all too inspiring: District 8’s textiles. However, I like to take these ideas to really abstract places.

And so from this concept of Silk and Lace was borne.

Silk and Lace 01

This was quite a touchy manicure. After the requisite base coat and two coats of this delightful pink I discovered hiding in the back of the cupboard – I have absolutely no recollection of having actually purchased this nail polish – I decided to use two Konad stamp designs to create a lace effect.

I will admit it took two attempts to get the lace fairly accurate and in line.

Silk and Lace 02

I had to resort to placing some Scotch tape along the line dividing white and pink, French manicure style, and then stamping the black netting, to achieve a neat line. I then had to do the reverse; Scotch tape on top of the netting to make sure no black polish from the lace edge painted over the netting.

Let’s face it: Mish is prone to mistakes…

Silk and Lace 03

The black design didn’t stand out as much as I had hoped, so I added a few black rhinestones to the design, to really make it shine.

And so you have it: my nail art representing textiles.

Silk and Lace 04

I absolutely love this nail art!

Although, after seeing it for two days, the vivid pink got on my nerves… Let it be known that pink is NOT a favourite colour of mine.

Silk and Lace 05

Thoughts? :D

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on May 26, 2012, in French, Hunger Games, Konad, Rhinestones and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. A blonde girl whose favourite colour isn’t pink? Absurd.

Reply!

