Ebony and Ivory – District 10

This nail art is what I like to call District 10 Deconstructed. “Deconstructed” is a term commonly used in cooking shows, and I’ve simply taken it and applied it to nails. It is not initially apparent that this manicure represents the livestock District from Hunger Games, but it was certainly inspired by it.

Ebony and Ivory 01

Let me tell you how I arrived at this simple, yet classy, look.

I was quite reluctant to do a manicure resembling livestock. If you search for District 10 nail art, you’ll find people attempting to paint animals on their fingernails – ick!

So I sat and thought about it. How could I portray livestock without actually having animals strewn grotesquely across my nails? Answer:

Animal print.

Ebony and Ivory 02

Cue another hurdle. Livestock are not exactly known for their attractive pelts. I thought a cow design might work, but instead of coloured splotches, I’d substitute them with dots, big ones in a neat pattern covering the nails.

So I painted my nails black and white. On my left hand, black is the dominant colour with white on the feature nails (thumb and ring finger). I applied the opposite to my right hand.

Ebony and Ivory 03

But then I thought: I’m not that great at doing big dots. They never turn out circular or even.

So why not do small dots instead?

I certainly wasn’t going to apply little dots across the entire nail (though that may be an interesting idea for another, more patient day). In one of my previous manicures – Bird of Paradise – I’d used a line of five dots in decreasing size, and I’d found them quite appealing.

I decided to replicate the dots in alternating colours, along opposing corners of the nails.

Ebony and Ivory 04

If you ignore the dodgy dots on my right hand (I’ll never be ambidextrous!), I think this manicure turned out rather well. It’s very simple, but not boring.

But as I said, it is not obvious – or even remotely possible, some may think – that this is nail art inspired by District 10. Hence why I call it deconstructed; it has the elements of livestock, and was inspired by it.

Please let me know what you think below!

Ebony and Ivory 05

Also, please click “Follow” to the right :D

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on May 19, 2012, in Hunger Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply!

