Mermaid Scales

Despite the fact that I am supposed to be a mature, sophistocated member of society, I cannot help but admit to a certain affection for fairytales and fantasical creatures. Mermaids were a pretty big highlight of my youth – and, dare I say, their fascination has yet to wane.

Mermaid Scales 01

Since I became so intrigued by nail art, I knew I just had to attempt a mermaid manicure. There are many ways to go about this, and will likely result in multiple mermaid nail art, but this is my rendition of mermaid scales.

Mermaid Scales 02

The blue nails represent the beautiful calm ocean. I layered a shimmery light blue over a darker blue to achieve the shade I was looking for. The feature nails represent mermaid scales, fallen from the mystical creatures, lost to the sea. I layered five glitter polishes to create this look.

Mermaid Scales 03

The pink, right at the cuticle, is not really visible in these pics *sadface*

Normally, one would just apply the glitter polish directly to the nails and blend them for a gradient, but my options in polishes were limited at best. Several of the glitter polishes were not just flecks, but solid lacquers of glitter, meaning none of the underlying blue would shine through.

Mermaid Scales 04

(Above is a mermaid my grandmother made me eons ago…)

So to get around this problem, I had to sponge them all on. Rather time consuming, but also rather worth it. I’m happy with the results, though a less-structured gradient might have worked better.

Mermaid Scales 05

There are several air bubbles visible in the blue (yes, trust me to point out my own flaws…), but I figured they could kind of resemble actual bubbles. So I tell myself.

Mermaid Scales 06

Please comment below!

:)

Mermaid Scales 07

I love the way the gold glitter glints on my thumb nail in this pic. I was hoping the glitter would do more of this, but sadly, I was left wanting.

Mermaid Scales 08

 

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on May 18, 2012, in Glitter, Gradient, Rainbow and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Reply!

