As Dawn Touches Green

*Sigh* My camera quality is really starting to bug. It fails to capture the essence and colours of my nails, but nevertheless, I shall persevere.

As Dawn Touches Green 01

I wanted to convey the gentle dawn light as it touches the green orchards of District 11 (yes, another District 11 idea).

I purchased this cool product called laser lace from the Dollar Nail Art store. It’s like a fragile sheet of some woven material – kind of like woven mylar. The sheet I chose was a beautiful lime green. You can’t see it in these pictures, but it has such a delightful shimmer.

To break up the soft gold polish and the lime green ‘laser lace’, I placed a strip of gold striping tape. This stuff is great – if you can get the ends to stay down. I failed epically in this regard.

Using a Konad stamp, I stamped on the trees/greenery.

As Dawn Touches Green 02

Okay, so I wouldn’t recommend this manicure for anyone lacking patience, or at the very least, determination. No matter what I did, the laser lace kept coming up around the edges, and becoming ragged all over the nail. I couldn’t keep the edges of the striping tape down – note to self: use glue next time.

The issues with the Konad stamp was a whole other can of worms…

But I have to say, I am still very happy with result. Not the visual seen in these pictures. but the awesomeness of it in reality.

As Dawn Touches Green 03

:)

xx

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on May 1, 2012, in Hunger Games, Konad and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That is really cool!

Reply!

