Firestone – District 12

Firestone 01

Let the Hunger Games begin! 

I quite like the idea of taking District themes, and designing nail art to symbolise each District. Quite a number of people are doing this, but I think my designs will be unique :) Not to mention that everyone else starts with District 1.

But I’m Mish, and I like to be contrary.

Here’s my interpretation of District 12, the coal and mining district:

Firestone 05

 

Firestone 04

I wanted my nails to look like coal or stone with gem-like flecks peeking through. It is on the simple side, but that’s not always a bad thing!

To achieve my District 12 look: apply a base coat. Maybe two, if you worry about the black polish staining your fingers. Trust me – it is NOT a good look (yes, this douche is speaking from personal experience).

Next, apply a black polish. My black required two coats; I used Maybelline’s Express Finish black. It’s a quick-dry polish, which means less time in which Mish can screw up her wet nails!

Firestone 06

Now, for the colourful specks – these are typically referred to as crystal flakes, but I would also go so far as to call them mylar flakes (look it up); they’re made of the same stuff as mylar, after all. I used Chi Chi’s crystal flakes, but you can get this in lots of other brands, some mainstream brands, too.

I needed two coats of the flakes to build up the right amount of colour. This all comes down to personal preference. You want them to look like flecks in stone.

I was tempted to leave my manicure here; I liked the way the gloss made the flakes shine:

Firestone 02

But I was determined to create the image in my mind, so I went ahead and applied a matte top coat. This gives the manicure a stone-like feel; it takes away the shiny, glossy surface. Now my nails resemble a firestone :)

Firestone 03

To be honest, the flakes looked more blue-green oriented in the bottle, which I adored, so I’m not sure if it is the black polish that brings out the red, or whether the flakes just wanted to shine that colour.

Oh, well. Such is life.

Have fun with your uber-cool District 12 nails!

Firestone 07

 

Firestone 08

As you might have noticed, Mish’s nails befell a tragic accident! My nails were flaking too much on the tips, so I made the very traumatic decision to cut them back. So now they are pathetically short. No more French manicures for AT LEAST a month… T_T

Anyhoo… Please comment!

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on April 15, 2012, in Glitter, Hunger Games, Matte and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Nice!! I love these HG colors!

  2. Wow, this looks amazing! Really love this, adding the matte top coat really does make it look like coal or something :)

  1. Pingback: Parisian Delicacy | Mish's Nail Art

Reply!

