Cosmic Purple

For this manicure, I wanted to do another gradient; I was rather pleased with Snowflake, so I thought I’d give it a go with purple.

Cosmic Purple 01

At the time, the colours took me on a rollercoaster ride. These were the only two purples I possessed, and I thought they’d go smashingly. Then I actually did the manicure, and the dark purple was more of a mulberry colour than I’d wanted, and I hated it. Several hours – and many stolen looks – later, I decided I rather liked the two unique purples together. An hour later I hated it again. I vacillated between the two extremes before I finally decided that I liked them.

It’s just one of those things, you know. You either love it or hate it.

Cosmic Purple 02

To achieve my Cosmic Purple:

Apply a base coat. When that’s dry, apply a light purple. I used Inglot’s 152, a lilac-y shade. Or is it a lavender shade? Is there really any difference? Both are plants…

Taking a make-up sponge, gently sponge the darker purple onto your nails, starting at the tips and working your way partially down the nail. Your light purple must be completely dry first! – otherwise, you’ll simply take off the base polish, rather than paint over it. You want a thin layer, so you can build it up to a gradient. I used BYS Amethyst Metallic. It sponged on a lot lighter than the bottle indicated.

Such is life.

Gradually strengthen your dark purple. It will look slightly gritty/textured.

Once you have sponged to your satisfaction, apply a glitter polish. As always, I used Sally Hansen’s Disco Ball. I never get sick of that polish. This polish has multi-coloured flecks of glitter, predominantly yellow, green and blue. It gives our gradient that cosmic look.

Cosmic Purple 04

Sadly, Disco Ball doesn’t exactly show up with my camera. It’s a lot prettier and sparklier in reality. On that note, my poor pointer finger in the above pic lost a few millimetres after painting, so its intensity is somewhat lacking towards the tip. Just imagine it looks like the nail beside it :)

I simply applied two top coats to finish off the look. If you want to go the extra mile, you can add some small silver rhinestones, or a few different-sized hexagons. Up to personal choice, really. I think the glitter is all the decoration you need, but each to their own.

Cosmic Purple 03

Hmm, I should really have added pics of my right hand. Strangely enough, I did better gradient sponging on that hand – never mind that I’m right-handed! Ah well, I’m sure you get the idea.

(In an aside note, every time I write the word ‘cosmic’, all I can think of is “Moon Cosmic Poweeeerrrr!”  ^^; I need to get out more…)

Whatcha think? :)

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on April 6, 2012, in Glitter, Gradient and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I really like this one too!

  2. Thanks! I just had this idea, and had to do it :D

Reply!

