Easter Eggs

As Easter is upon us, I thought I’d be a little festive and do some Easter nails. I don’t know about you, but when I think of Easter, I think of pastel colours (other than chocolate, of course!). This manicure is intentionally simple – it is designed to replicate Easter egg foil wrappings, which are typically not that complex.

Easter Eggs 02

I have to say, although this design is not exactly as I had envisioned it (no surprise there…), I am still very happy with it. It has obvious flaws, but I’m still learning to have a steady hand. Now, to the tute.

Apply a base coat. Whatever brand tickles your fancy. I have a tendancy for flakey nails, so I’ve been using Sally Hansen’s Miracle Cure. It does pretty well in levelling your flaked nails so you can apply polish.

My five colours of choice: Maybelline’s New York Mini Colorama Green Park, Inglot’s 152 (purple), Sally Hansen’s Xtreme Wear First Blush, Maybelline’s New York Mini Colorama Party Blue, and Sally Hansen’s Xtreme Wear Mellow Yellow. The green is not exactly my ideal shade, but it was only $5, so who am I to complain? It applied fairly well; just a bit thinner than I would prefer. Ditto the blue. The purple works brilliantly, as do all Inglot polishes. I had a few issues with the SH yellow and pink: the pink was too thin, and required maaaaany layers, and the yellow tended to goop on, creating a thick layer. But still, I rather like the overall effect.

Easter Eggs 03

For the nail art, I began with the white lines. I used white acrylic paint, and I rather recommend you do the same. Why? It spreads better than white polish, and has a much nicer consistency. Plus (and this is an epic plus), if you make a mistake, you can simply wet a cotton tip with water and wipe away the error. Gotta love water-based acrylics! :)

I have to admit, it feels strange, using water instead of remover to correct errors. It’s like magic! (*cough*)

I used a control brush (the long thin brush that comes with some brands of polish) to draw my lines, but a normal paint brush will suffice. Just make sure it’s thin enough to do the job.

I found that a dotting tool made the dots far too small. As it is, I wanted larger dots, but I lacked a sufficiently large round object. I resorted to the end of a bobby-pin. Hey, whatever works, right?

Easter Eggs 04

Now that your nails are feeling pretty Easter-y, they need a top coat. To give them an unusual foil look, I applied Inglot’s Top Coat: Matte. This stuff is a matte top coat – as in, not glossy. It really gives the nails an authentic foil wrapping feel. This was the first time I’ve used matte top coat – I went on a shopping expedition specifically to find some – and I am very impressed with the result.

A word of warning, however. The polish will go on shiny, but will dry matte within seconds. But just because it looks and feels dry DOES NOT MEAN IT’S DRY. It will still take as long as normal polish to dry completely.

Here’s a shot of my thumbs to show you the difference (which isn’t saying much with my camera quality):

Easter Eggs 01

The thumb on the left has no top coat, just the base polish and acrylic paint. The right thumb has the matte applied. You can see the shine on the left, but there is no visible shine on the matte. (Please ignore the fact that the two nail arts differ!)

Matte isn’t a popular polish, and I suspect this is because people haven’t heard of it. So, now that you know what it is, and how cool it can be, go forth, my friends, and spread the word! Matte can make for some awesome effects, and I look forward to attempting some unique designs.

Enjoy your Easter nails! :)

Please comment. I’d like to know your thoughts!

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on April 5, 2012, in Festive, Food, Matte, Rainbow and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This is sooooo cute! Wish I had this as my nails for the Easter craft work I did instead of the green and purple nails I applied XD No where near as awesome as what you’ve done :p The colours area really lovely too.

Reply!

