Bird of Paradise

Yes, yes, I know. A strange name for a manicure. And you may be right. But the vivid colours and curving lines of this nail art remind me of those beautiful flowers. Hence the name.

I apologise in advance for the reflected light; it does somewhat diminish the presence of my nails :)

Bird of Paradise 02

This manicure may look rather complex simply because it is busy, but let me assure you, it is rather quite easy.

I used all Sally Hansen polishes – I have a particular fondness for her products. Not quite sure why… Though they do have a tendancy to dry swiftly.

As per usual, apply a base coat. Next, grab your three colours. You can choose any three, really. I just preferred a sort of gradient effect (not that you can really tell!). From SH’s HD collection, I used Lite for yellow, Hi-Def for green, and Pixel Pretty for blue. Take your first colour (yellow) and paint a third of the white of your nail. Don’t worry if your line between tip and pink isn’t straight. Do the same for the other two colours.

Now, you can keep that jagged line; it’s no big deal. But, being an incurable perfectionist, I had to clean it up. I took a cotton tip wet with remover and lightly ran it over the excess, until I had a visible line. You don’t want to press hard, or the base coat will come off.

Next comes my personal favourite: glitter polish. I am a sucker for anything that glitters. Seriously. And this nail polish is incredible. It’s SH’s Xtreme Wear: Disco Ball. All that glitter is just one coat. Once dry, the surface can be a little gritty – no surprise, what with the glitter and all. If you feel the surface is too rough for your black and white paint job, by all means, apply a top coat.

Bird of Paradise 04

If you have one of those control brushes, the long, straight brushes that come with some nail polishes, I would recommend using that for the curved lines. Otherwise, just use a very narrow paint brush (this was the path I took). For the design, you can do two curved lines in each colour on either side of the nail, or you can use your imagination.

All that’s left is to add the dots. As with the first manicure, a dotting tool is preferable, but a bobby-pin or brush can work just as well. I used a dotting tool. My white dots were absolutely delightful. Just look at them! But my black dots…

Well, the less said of them, the better.

In my defence, however, I was using old polish, which didn’t want to spread or dot or do anything I wished it to. There were supposed to be more black dots, but I didn’t want to ruin the effect with the atrocious polish. If you are using the good stuff, then dot away.

Apply a top coat or two. And there you have it! Birds of Paradise :)

Bird of Paradise 03

You don’t necessarily need to have long (ish) nails to accomplish this manicure. If you start slightly lower on the pink, you can still convey the illusion of length. Or if you want to go all out, apply fake nails (gel or acrylic) first.

If you want your three colours to really pop, you can apply a white polish to your tips before using the colours. This will give them a colour boost, make them stand out.

I would have applied the white myself, except… *coughs* I forgot.

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on April 3, 2012, in French, Glitter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Reply!

