Neon’d It

Neon'd It 01

A splash of neon to brighten your day

Who doesn’t love neon? A bold alternative to pastel, neon is a sure way to fun. My neon polishes from BK are doubly fun – they also glow in the dark! Yup, I have awesome neon nails ^^

But it’s not all fun and games. There’s this new nail craze similar to the crackle polish, only it looks like circles instead of random crackle. Through the heaps of circles in the polish, you can see the lower colour peeking through. A great look. I was too impatient (as always) to wait for a real polish to arrive, so I attempted one of the DIY methods.

Faaaaail.

Neon'd It 02

I glow!

Okay. Let me break it down for you.

You’re supposed to drip your polish on the surface of filtered room-temperature water in a plastic cup just like water marbling. But with just the one colour. Then, you take a hand cleanser/sanitiser and spritz the surface. The nail polish will react, immediately shrinking away from the alcohol dots.

Only, it never quite worked that way.

Well, I didn’t have any spritzy hand stuff. There was talk of acetone in a spray bottle, but that’s way too risky. I decided to go with another suggestion of hair spray.

It didn’t work.

That’s not to say it doesn’t work, period, just that it didn’t work for me in this particular instance.

As you can see, I scrambled for ideas to cover my rough neon job.

Cue the saran wrap nails.

Neon'd It 03

Plan B isn’t so bad…

My saran work isn’t my best. Since you have to rush the polish application so it doesn’t dry before you dab it with saran wrap, I tend to miss the sides of my nails. Leaving quite an obvious error in the final product.

And check out that clean-up job. Atrocious! I can see the white from the layer under the neons (for optimal brightness!) along the cuticles. Poorly done.

But still, this look is VERY striking from a reasonable distance.

Neon'd It 04

See?

Now, about that glow in the dark thing… These things are über bright. I mean it. Once the lights are out, there’s the usual ‘ooh, pretty!’ moment, and then you zonk out, thinking that’s the end of it.

Nuh-uh.

I woke up at five one morning, when it was still dark out. My nails were still glowing. Freaky, huh? Freaked me out! Literally; I didn’t have a clue what that glowing thing was in front of my face. Took my sleepmode brain moments to realise they were my nails.

Note to self: if you put on glow in the dark polish, try to remember you put it on ^^;

About Mishka Rae

I'm just a gal with a passion for Nail Art. I like to try designs I've seen, as well as unique and original ideas. You should give it a go! xx

Posted on January 7, 2014, in Neon, Saran Wrap, Short, Simple and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. These are stunning! Love the effect of the lumo shining through the black :)

Reply!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

